

State of Alabama Personnel Department

64 North Union Street Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 Fax: (334) 242-1110

Phone: (334) 242-3389

www.personnel.alabama.gov **Continuous Announcement**

ACCOUNTANT - 10611

Salary: \$41,668.80 - \$69,688.80

The salary range reflects the entry level and maximum salary potential in the assigned pay grade. Starting salary for applicants with limited to no experience may be up to \$50,712.00.

Announcement Date: February 20, 2008 Revised Date: May 17, 2023

JOB INFORMATION

The Accountant is a permanent, full-time position used by various agencies throughout the state. This is beginning professional level accounting work in the application of accounting and auditing principles, methods, and procedures in the establishment, analysis, and maintenance of fiscal records.

MINIMUM REQUIREMENT(S)

• Bachelor's degree from an accredited* four-year college or university with a major in Accounting. Applicants may apply for this position during their last semester of college; however, applicants will be required to submit documentation verifying completion of the Bachelor's degree to the hiring agency prior to beginning work.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENT(S)

• Applicants must submit an official college transcript for each accredited* postsecondary academic institution attended. Original transcripts issued to students will be accepted. Photocopies of transcripts and faxed transcripts will be accepted. Information obtained from the internet will NOT be accepted. You may request to have your school, or a third-party transcript service send your transcript directly to the State Personnel Department at transcripts@personnel.alabama.gov This email address is only for educational correspondence. Any emails sent to this address by an applicant will be discarded. Official transcripts which have been submitted for any state job after January 2, 2012, will remain on file in our system and will not need to be resubmitted. You may call to verify.

EXAMINATION

- Open-Competitive to all applicants
- Evaluation of Education as shown on application will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-competitive register.

HOW TO APPLY

- Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama Career Center Office.
- Apply on-line, by mail, or by fax. Applications will be accepted until further notice. The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions.

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain information about examinations. If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things. One, you may not be given an examination. Two, you may be disqualified after an examination. Three, your name may be removed from a register. Or four, your name may not be certified from the register. (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9). According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor. Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the State, will forfeit his or her office or position.

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel Department.

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process pursuant to Act No. 2011-535.

State of Alabama Personnel Department

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees

- 1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor's, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission (DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below:
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)
- Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)
- Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC)
- New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)
- Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC)

College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor's degree or higher.

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have <u>not</u> been accredited by one of the above accreditation associations <u>may</u> be accepted if a *regionally accredited school** considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program. For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an applicant's bachelor's degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree. In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a bachelor's degree). *This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.* State Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis.

Note: This policy is subject to change. Certain state agencies may have additional requirements.

*The term "regionally accredited school" refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six regional accreditation associations listed above.